HARDIN COUNTY BOARD OF SUPERVISORS MINUTES – AUGUST 3, 2022 WEDNESDAY – 9:00 A.M. COURTHOUSE LARGE CONFERENCE ROOM

Vice-Chair Lance Granzow called the meeting to order. Supervisor Renee McClellan was present. Supervisor BJ Hoffman was absent. Also in attendance: Taylor Roll, Thomas Craighton, Darrell Meyer, Lori Kadner, Machel Eichmeier, Michael Pearce, Jolene Pieters, and Mary Frieden. Attending via Zoom: Cheryl Lawrence, Connie Mesch, Elaine Loring, Curt Groen, Donna Juber, Pauline Lloyd, and Julie Duhn.

The Pledge of Allegiance was recited.

McClellan moved, Granzow seconded to approve the agenda. Motion carried.

McClellan moved, Granzow seconded to approve the minutes from July 27, 2022. Motion carried.

McClellan moved, Granzow seconded to approve the claims for payment for August 3, 2022. Motion carried.

Engineer Roll stated that the Federal government has put additional money into the Safety Program and there are some things that Hardin County can qualify for if we have a Safety Plan. 80% of the consultation fee will be paid by the Federal Government and 20% will be paid through Iowa's Highway and Safety Plan and no money will be required from Hardin County.

McClellan moved, Granzow seconded to approve Resolution 2022-332 – Resolution for Participation in SS4A Grant Application. Roll Call Vote: "Ayes" Granzow, McClellan. "Nays" none. Absent: Hoffman. Motion carried. Resolution No. 2022-32 is hereby adopted as follows:

RESOLUTION FOR PARTICIPATION IN SS4A GRANT APPLICATION

Hardin County Resolution No. 2022-32

WHEREAS, as part of the new Federal Transportation Bill, Infrastructure Investment and Jobs Act (IIJA), there is over \$1B of roadway safety funding available in the form of Safe Streets and Roads for All (SS4A) grants. To be an eligible applicant for this new safety funding, a county MUST have an eligible Action Plan in place; and

WHEREAS, the Iowa County Engineers Association (ICEA) plans to apply for a SS4A grant to develop and supply all 99 counties in Iowa with an eligible Action Plan at no cost to the counties. ICEA encourages all 99 counties to participate in this grant application; and

WHEREAS, the Hardin County Board of Supervisors will commit to achieve significant declines in roadway fatalities and serious injuries in Hardin County; and

WHEREAS, the Hardin County Board of Supervisors recognizes the Action Plan and will assist the County Engineer's department in achieving the goal of a dramatic decrease in roadway fatalities and serious injuries and zero roadway fatalities and serious injuries by the years 2030 and 2050, respectively; and

WHEREAS, the Hardin County Board of Supervisors, after consulting with the Hardin County Engineer, desires to participate in a joint SS4A grant to develop and receive an eligible Action Plan for Hardin County.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE BOARD OF SUPERVISORS OF HARDIN COUNTY that this County does hereby request to be included in the statewide SS4A grant to develop Actions Plans for all 99 counties in Iowa.

Resolution adopted this <u>3rd</u> day of August, <u>2022</u>.

<u>/s/ Lance Granzow</u> Board of Supervisors Chairperson of Vice-Chair

ATTEST:

<u>/s/ Jolene Pieters</u> Hardin County Auditor

McClellan moved, Granzow seconded to approve Interstate Power and Light Utility Permit UT-22-018. Motion carried.

McClellan moved, Granzow seconded to approve the AgVantage FS of Waverly FY2022/2023 Fuel Contract. Motion carried.

McClellan moved, Granzow seconded to approve the County Attorney Memorandum of Understanding with Attorney David Kuehner. Motion carried.

McClellan moved, Granzow seconded to approve the Sheriff Department change of status for the promotion of Spencer Larson. Motion carried.

McClellan moved, Granzow seconded to approve the Auditor Report for July, 2022. Motion carried.

McClellan moved, Granzow seconded to approve the Recorder Report for July 2022. Motion carried.

McClellan moved, Granzow seconded to approve the Sheriff Department report for July 2022. Motion carried.

Other Business: Engineer Roll stated that the paving is going well on County Highway S75.

McClellan moved, Granzow seconded to adjourn the meeting. Motion carried.

Meeting was adjourned at 9:11 a.m.

<u>/s/ Lance Granzow</u> BJ Hoffman, Chair or Vice-Chair Board of Supervisors <u>/s/ Jolene Pieters</u> Jolene Pieters Hardin County Auditor